shores of the St. Lawrence. The era of the French regime lasted till 1760, when France gave up the contest with England for supremacy on the Continent of America.

Canada was divided into Upper and Lower Canada in 1791; in 1841 the two provinces were united and called the province of

Canada.

- 2. The first attempt to colonize Acadia (Nova Scotia) was made by the French in 1598. It was unsuccessful. A second and a third attempt in 1500 and 1600 proved abortive. In 1605 Baron de Poutrincourt, a French gentleman-adventurer, established Port Royal (now Annapolis Royal), the first actual settlement by Europeans within the boundaries of what is now the Dominion of Canada. Nova Scotia was formally ceded to Great Britain in 1713. Under its first name, La Cadie (afterwards Acadia), Nova Scotia included Cape Breton and a considerable portion of New Brunswick. In 1785 the latter was made a separate province. Prince Edward Island, previously named St. John's Island, annexed to Nova Scotia in 1763, was constituted a distinct colony in 1770. Cape Breton, separated politically from Nova Scotia in 1784, was reannexed to the mother colony Vancouver Island, which was a separate colony till 1866, was united in that year to the mainland colony.
- 3. The Dominion of Canada was formed in 1867. It included the province of Canada (divided into Ontario and Quebec), Nova Scotia and New Brunswick. The North-west Territories were acquired by purchase in 1870. Other provinces joined subsequently. The islands and territory of Northern British America were transferred to the Dominion by the British Government in 1880, and the Confederation as it exists to-day was completed, Newfoundland alone of all the British North American group remaining outside.
- 4. Representative institutions were granted by the British Government to Nova Scotia in 1758, to Prince Edward Island in 1770, and to New Brunswick in 1785. Vancouver Island received them in 1854, and the Mainland in 1859. Responsible government was granted by the Imperial Parliament to the Province of Canada in 1841, but not definitely established till 1847; to Nova Scotia and New Brunswick in 1848; to Prince Edward Island in 1851, and to British Columbia in 1871. The North-west Territories were governed at first under the administration of the Lieutenant-Governor of Manitoba; then by a Lieutenant-Governor and Council nominated by the Dominion Government (Act of 1880); then by a Lieutenant-Governor